Poetry-9

Jason

Waiting in a line 20 people deep, they are all looking at me, anxious and none more than the lady with the cane, “My knee hurts, I can’t stand long.” I can immediately tell she is faking a disability and the real problem is her facing her anxiety. She sits down, conceding her place in the long line, which she is at the head of after 5 minutes, but refuses to acknowledge me calling her name. I am the face they must look at first, as they enter, empty handed, but the last they look at. Leaving, hands full of food, they are all grateful and the faking lady even smiles at me, as she happily pushes the handicapped door open, hands full.. When her hands were empty, she used the button.

Leave a Reply

